Does Popeyes Mashed Potatoes Have Pork?

As a vegan, you cannot be too careful about what you eat, especially when you are not the one preparing it.

Many recipes have tendencies of containing meat, so you don’t want to be caught unawares. The best thing to do when eating out is to scrutinize the list of ingredients and ensure there’s no dairy product whatsoever. This can be stressful and that is why this article is written for you.

Popeyes mashed potatoes do not contain pork. It is made from a mixture of celery soup cream, milk, butter, salt, and pepper. However, Popeyes gravy is made from a combination of chicken and pork. This is what you need to avoid when placing an order at Popeyes, not the mashed potatoes themselves.

As a vegetarian who enjoys eating mashed potatoes, we would explain to you if Popeyes mashed potatoes have pork or not, take you through the ingredients the potatoes are made from, and enlighten you on what you need to avoid when placing an order for mashed potatoes at Popeyes, and also advise you on other vegetarian food options that are available at the restaurant.

Does Popeyes Mashed Potatoes Have Pork?

Many vegans are curious to know if meat is one of the ingredients included in making Popeyes mashed potatoes, but the good news is no. Popeyes mashed potatoes is a mixture of milk, butter, cream of celery soup, and spices.

Popeyes mashed potatoes are not made from any special recipe outside what is available in other fast food restaurants and homemade recipes. The ingredients include Potatoes, Butter, Milk, Celery Soup Cream, Salt, and Pepper.

Tip: Popeyes mashed potatoes do not have pork, but Popeyes gravy does. Indicate that you do not want the gravy when you place your order.

Does Popeyes Mashed Potatoes Gravy Have Pork?

Popeyes mashed potatoes gravy contains pork. Generally, most gravy is made from meat to give it a special flavor and texture. Popeyes mashed potatoes gravy however is made from a mixture of chicken gizzard and pork tasso to spice up the flavor and texture uniquely.

Nonetheless, this does not stop you from ordering mashed potatoes from Popeyes because you can decide to have the potatoes without the gravy. This way, you’re eating safely. This goes to say that gravy is not a good option for you as vegetarian eating at Popeyes.

Tip: As a vegan, order Popeyes Mashed Potatoes without gravy.

Is Popeyes Mashed Potatoes Good For A Vegetarian?

Taking an in-depth look at it, mashed potatoes are generally not a good food choice for vegetarians. This is because, other than the potatoes themselves, most of the ingredients (except salt and pepper) are from animal sources: butter and milk.

This implies that even though meat is not directly included in mashed potatoes, they have a dairy source that contradicts the nature of vegetarianism.

However, looking beyond the source of mashed potatoes and focusing on if Popeyes as a restaurant includes meat in their potatoes, the answer is no. Popeyes mashed potatoes are vegetarian-friendly.

Popeyes mashed potato details

In addition, if you add Popeyes mashed potatoes gravy to the mashed potatoes, it will no longer be fit for a vegetarian. This implies that Popeyes mashed Potatoes are only a good option for you if you have them without gravy. The fact is Popeyes gravy does not just have pork, but chicken too: that is a lot of animal food.

Does Popeyes Serve Their Potatoes With Gravy?

Yes, Popeyes always serve their mashed potatoes with gravy, except if the customer specifies otherwise. This is why you don’t want to take chances when you place an order for mashed potatoes. Specify in your order that you want the potatoes to come without gravy, if not, be sure your mashed potatoes would have meat in them when you receive your order.

The good news is that Popeyes can sell the mashed potatoes alone without the gravy, so you can place the other that way.

What Are The Other Vegetarian Food Options At Popeyes?

For every vegan, eating out at a fast food restaurant can be some kind of draining adventure. This is because you are picky and cannot lose guard. For this reason, we would be making your choices easier by helping you with a list of food that is safely available for you at Popeyes.

We understand chicken is the main deal at Popeyes, but there are other food options you can eat without fretting because they do not contain any meat.

The following vegetarian-friendly food and side dishes are available at Popeyes:

  • Coleslaw
  • Mac and Cheese
  • Biscuits
  • Cinnamon Apple Pie
  • Chocolate Chip Cookie
  • Cajun Fries.

Final Summary

While mashed potatoes are generally not considered vegetarian because of their animal sources (butter and milk), Popeyes mashed potatoes are a safe option for you when you don’t take them with the gravy.

The gravy contains pork, but the mashed potatoes don’t.

Leave a Comment